• DP World Tour Championship: Need to know

    Bernd Wiesberger
    Wiesberger is the man to beat

    What you need to know as the DP World Tour Championship, Dubai, a Rolex Series event, concludes the season-long race to be crowned the king of Europe.

    The race to be crowned 2019 Race to Dubai champion will conclude on Sunday afternoon when the 2019 Race to Dubai comes to an end. The DP World Tour Championship, Dubai is the 47th and final event of European Tour season and the No 1 player will be confirmed at the end of play.

    Bernd Wiesberger currently tops the Race to Dubai Rankings presented by Rolex, looking to become the first Austrian to win the season-long rankings, but could be knocked off the top spot by a stellar chasing pack, including 2017 Race to Dubai winner Tommy Fleetwood, three-time Rolex Series winner Jon Rahm, The 148th Open Champion Shane Lowry, and the 2016 DP World Tour Champion Matt Fitzpatrick, who complete the top five alongside Wiesberger.

    The eighth and final Rolex Series event of 2019 will take place at Jumeirah Golf Estates, concluding a three-week swing of Rolex Series events, following the Turkish Airlines Open and last week’s Nedbank Golf Challenge.

    Each Rolex Series event has a minimum prize fund of $7 million, however the 50-man field will battle it out for the largest first prize in tournament golf, $3m. As the final Rolex Series event of the season, players will also be hoping to win a significant amount of the 12,000 Race to Dubai points on offer.

    The winner will take home over 2,000 rankings points, which will be a deciding factor in the race for European Tour No 1.

    With the contest for Race to Dubai champion on the line, the 50-man field at Jumeirah Golf Estates is not shy of world-class talent. Major champions, including current Open champion Lowry, Italy’s maiden Major man Francesco Molinari, winner of the 2018 Masters Tournament Patrick Reed and four-time Major champion Rory McIlroy, will all be teeing it up.

    Joining the Major men are a host of Rolex Series winners, including multiple champions of the lucrative events: Fleetwood, Tyrrell Hatton, Alex Noren, Rahm, Justin Rose, Wiesberger and Danny Willett.

    Article written by