• The Players: By the numbers

    The Players numbers
    Si-Woo Kim defends this week

    The Players brings together a stellar field as the best in the world do battle around the Stadium Course at TPC Sawgrass. Here are the numbers that matter.

    21 -The age of 2017 winner Si Woo Kim, becoming the youngest winner since Adam Scott in 2004 by 18 months.

    1 – Si Woo Kim was the only player not to drop a shot in the final round, giving him victory by three shots
    at 10 under.

    2 – The number of players tied for second place behind Kim in 2017: Ian Poulter and Louis Oosthuizen.

    6 – The number of strokes Oosthuizen took on the par-four 4th, when his fairway bunker shot found the water, putting him out of contention.

    80 – The closing round for defending champion Jason Day, keeping the streak of no winner ever repeating victory. Rickie Fowler, who won the year before, closed with a 79.

    2 – Rafael Cabrera-Bello’s score on the 519-yard par-five 16th, the first double-eagle recorded at  that hole. He used an 8-iron for his second shot of 182 yards.

    1.89 million – The prize for first place, in dollars, from a total of $10.5 million.

    63 -The course record at the Stadium Course, held by six players.

    Article written by