• Masters Week with a difference on TV

    Tiger Woods
    Tiger Woods

    SuperSport will continue ‘Masters Week’ by filling the week with great moments, mythology and classic contests set to be well served by blocks of memorable historic content.

    Starting on Wednesday, with highlights of Gary Player’s second win at Augusta in 1974, the Masters package will roll back the years to such landmarks as Seve Ballesteros’ twin triumphs, the sixth win by Jack Nicklaus, perhaps the greatest golfer of them all, plus subsequent heroics by Nick Faldo and Phil Mickelson.

    Naturally enough, a huge slice of Masters history is aligned to Tiger Woods and Friday will bring a 10-hour block dedicated to the charismatic five-time champion.

    Saturday’s Masters broadcast will have an especially strong South African dimension with highlights of Trevor Immelman’s win in 2008 and Charl Schwartzel’s three years later.

    Bubba Watson’s 2012 playoff win against Louis Oosthuizen will also feature.

    The Masters special will close out, appropriately enough, with Woods’ remarkable comeback win last year.

    All will be screened on SuperSport 5.



    10am     1974 Masters – Gary Player wins his second green jacket

    12pm     1978 Masters – Gary Players wins third green jacket

    1:30pm  1980 Seve Ballesteros

    2:30pm  1981 Tom Watson wins his second green jacket

    3:30pm  1983 Seve Ballesteros

    4:30pm  1986 Masters – Jack Nicklaus wins his sixth green jacket

    7:30pm  1992 Masters – Fred Couples wins his only major


    10am     1993 Masters – Bernhard Langer wins his second green jacket

    12:30pm  1996 Masters – Nick Faldo wins his third green jacket after Greg Norman folds on Sunday

    3:30pm   1999 Masters – Jose Maria Olazabel wins his second green jacket

    6pm     2004 Masters – Phil Mickelson wins his first, beating Ernie Els

    Friday   Tiger Woods Special day

    10am     1997 Masters – Green jacket No 1

    1pm     2001 Masters – No 2

    4pm     2002 Masters – No 3

    7pm     2005 Masters – No 4


    10am     2008 Masters – Trevor Immelman wins

    2pm     2011 Masters – Charl Schwartzel wins

    6pm     2012 Masters – Bubba Watson beats Louis Oosthuizen in a playoff


    10am    2013 Masters – Adam Scott wins

    11am    2014 Masters – Bubba Watson wins his second green jacket

    1pm    2015 Masters – Jordan Spieth wins

    2pm    2016 Masters – Danny Willett wins

    3pm    2017 Masters – Sergio Garcia wins

    4pm    2018 Masters – Patrick Reed wins

    5pm    2019 Masters – Tiger woods wins his fifth green jacket

    Photo: Brian Snyder/Reuters

    Article written by