• Leopard Creek’s ‘Big 5’ champions return

    Photo by Shaun Roy/Sunshine Tour/Gallo Images
    Pablo Larrazabal

    The 2020 Alfred Dunhill Championship will have its own ‘Big 5’ in the field this year as five former champions of this prestigious event return for action.

    The iconic event will once again be hosted at the spectacular Leopard Creek Country Club as part of the co-sanctioned ‘Summer Swing’ series by the Sunshine Tour and European Tour with players teeing off from 26-29 November.

    Defending champion Pablo Larrazabal of Spain returns following his dramatic 2019 victory in which he battled the intense heat and blisters and birdied the treacherous 18th to win.

    READ: Joburg Open: Significant moment for Soweto golf

    He will be joined by 2016 champion Brandon Stone, who won the title in his breakout season during which he also won the South African Open to launch his European Tour career.

    Richard Sterne also returns as the 2008 champion and as well as runner-up in 2016. A victory for him would make him only the third player after Charl Schwartzel and Pablo Martin to have won the Alfred Dunhill Championship multiple times.

    Alvaro Quiros is back as the 2006 champion and also the third Spaniard to have won this title alongside Larrazabal and Martin.

    And, Germany’s Marcel Siem returns to Leopard Creek as the winner of the 2004 Alfred Dunhill Championship in January of that year, and following what is also still the longest playoff in the history of the tournament as he battled for three extra holes against the French duo of Gregory Havret and Raphael Jacquelin.

    ALSO READ: Dunhill launches photo competition

    This year’s Alfred Dunhill Championship boasts the Sunshine Tour’s biggest purse at R29 million. It anchors a strong run of three European Tour co-sanctioned tournaments in South Africa also including the Joburg Open and the South African Open.

    Article written by