• Bez, Detry grouped for Mauritius journey

    Christiaan Bezuidenhout
    One to watch this week

    One-time European Tour winner Christiaan Bezuidenhout will be joined by Belgian Thomas Detry and India’s Shiv Kapur for the first two rounds of the fifth AfrAsia Bank Mauritius Open.

    Bezuidenhout broke through in 2019 with his Andulucia Masters victory and will be looking for a strong start to his 2020 campaign at the Heritage Golf Club.

    The 25-year-old ended the season with a T12 at the Race to Dubai finale at Jumeirah Golf Estates – Earth Course and knows that a good result in December will go along way to booking his place at a return to the showpiece event next year.

    Former Open champion Paul Lawrie tees off at 12pm alongside South African Jaco Ahlers and India’s Gaganjeet Bhullar.

    Belgian bomber Nicolas Colsaerts goes out at 12:20pm and he will be joined by Korea’s Taehee Lee and South African Daniel van Tonder.

    In the following group, last week’s runner-up Joel Sjöholm is paired with Miguel Tabuena of the Philippines and another South African in JC Ritchie.

    Zander Lombard, who was in contention to win last week at Leopard Creek until he found water at the last, goes off at 7:10am alongside France’s Benjamin Hebert and American Johannes Veerman – who also comes into the event on the back of a top-10 finish.

    Former winner George Coetzee will get his Mauritius Open campaign under way alongside big-hitting Belgian Thomas Pieters and India’s Shubhankar Sharma.

    The winner of the inaugural event in Mauritius in 2015, Coetzee comes into the event on the back of a top-25 finish at the season-opening Alfred Dunhill Championship.
    He tees off at 7:20am in a group boasting 10 European Tour titles between them.
    Photo: Jan Kruger/Getty Images

    Article written by