• Alfred Dunhill Championship first up for new season

    David Lipsky at Leopard Creek
    Lipsky to defend at Leopard Creek Country Club

    The Alfred Dunhill Championship will launch the 49th European Tour season and the 2020 Race to Dubai from 28 November-1 December.

    The spectacular Leopard Creek joins Hong Kong Golf Club as the first venues on tour with the South African showpiece pencilled in alongside the Hong Kong Open as the season opener.

    The European Tour confirmed the initial sector of the 2020 International Schedule featuring 16 Race to Dubai events in 12 different countries, including the start of the fourth edition of the Rolex Series.

    Following the two openers, the tour heads for Mauritius for the AfrAsia Bank Mauritius Open (5-8 December) which is followed by the Australian PGA Championship (19-22 December) before the winter break.

    The South African Open hosted by the City of Johannesburg (9-12 January) then kicks off the 2020 calendar year, and will be followed by the Middle East Swing comprising the first Rolex Series event of the season, the Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship presented by EGA (16-19 January), followed by the Omega Dubai Desert Classic (23-26 January) and the Saudi International powered by SBIA (30 January-2 February).

    February begins in earnest with a return to Australia for the innovative ISPS Handa Vic Open (6-9 February), where men and women will once again compete alongside each other at the same venue. The first two World Golf Championship events of 2020 – the WGC-Mexico Championship (20-23 February) and WGC-Dell Technologies Match Play Championship (25-29 March) then take place either side of the Oman Open (27 February-1 March), the Commercial Bank Qatar Masters (5-8 March), the Magical Kenya Open presented by Absa (12-15 March) and the Hero Indian Open (19-22 March), before the first Major Championship of the season, the Masters Tournament, at Augusta National (9-12 April).

    The full European Tour 2020 schedule, including the remainder of the Rolex Series events, will be announced later this year.

    European Tour 2020 schedule thus far:

    November 28-December 1 – Alfred Dunhill Championship, Hong Kong Open,

    December 5-8 – Mauritius Open

    December 19-22 – Australian PGA Championship

    January 9-12 – South African Open

    January 16-19 Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship

    January 23-26 – Dubai Desert Classic

    January 30-February 2 – Saudi International

    February 6-9 – Vic Open

    February 13-16 – TBC

    February 20-23 – WGC Mexico Championship

    February 27-March 1 – Oman Open

    March 5-9 – Qatar Masters

    March 12-15 – Magical Kenya Open

    March 18-22 – Indian Open

    March 35-29 – WGC-Match Play

    April 2-5 – TBC

    April 9-12 – The Masters

    Article written by