• Goosen up for Hall of Fame spot

    Retief Goosen
    Goosen won two US Open titles

    Retief Goosen is one of four men to be considered for enshrinement into the 2019 World Golf Hall of Fame & Museum after the release of the 15 finalists.

    The list of finalists includes men and women representing four different countries, and consists of candidates from the following four categories: Male Competitor, Female Competitor, Lifetime Achievement and Veterans.

    Goosen, the winner of two Majors and 33 events worldwide, is joined in the male competitor category by Australia’s Graham Marsh and Americans Corey Pavin and Hal Sutton

    The South African rose to prominence with his victory at the 2001 US Open, a win that helped him top the European Tour Order of Merit in the same year. Such was the fruitfulness of that spell, Goosen was named European Tour Player of the Year for 2001 before he defended his Order of Merit title the following year.

    Full list of finalists (listed alphabetically by category):

    Male Competitor (4)
    Retief Goosen, South Africa
    Graham Marsh, Australia
    Corey Pavin, United States
    Hal Sutton, United States

    Female Competitor (5)
    Susie Maxwell Berning, United States
    Beverly Hanson, United States
    Sandra Palmer, United States
    Dottie Pepper, United States
    Jan Stephenson, Australia

    Lifetime Achievement (3)
    Peggy Kirk Bell, United States
    Billy Payne, United States
    Dennis Walters, United States

    Veterans (3)
    Jim Ferrier, Australia
    Catherine Lacoste, France
    Calvin Peete, United States

    The list of finalists was handed down by a selection sub-committee comprised of 20 individuals, including six World Golf Hall of Fame Members: Donna Caponi Byrnes, Juli Inkster, Hale Irwin, Nick Price, Curtis Strange and Karrie Webb. This group was responsible for overseeing the vetting process that commenced in June and culminated with the committee’s selection of finalists that will be presented to the selection commission.

    Before gaining consideration, each finalist met the necessary qualifications in his or her respective category by way of on-course accomplishments or by significant contributions to the game.

    The commission, co-chaired by Hall of Fame members Nancy Lopez, Jack Nicklaus, Gary Player and Annika Sorenstam will assemble next week to discuss the merits and vote on the 15 finalists. Additionally, all living Hall of Fame members provided personal input to the commission as it relates to the group of finalists.

    To be inducted, an individual must receive approval from at least 75% of the commission. This group will ultimately elect the class of 2019, which will be inducted in Pebble Beach, California on June 10, 2019, the week of the men’s US Open.

    Article written by