• Furyk confirms Tiger, Phil and Bryson picks

    Tiger Woods and Bryson DeChambeau
    The pair could team up in Paris

    The USA Ryder Cup team needs just one more player after Jim Furyk announced that Tiger Woods, Bryson DeChambeau and Tony Finau would be his first three wildcards.

    READ: Pick with your head, not heart dear captains 

    In a press conference on Tuesday, Furyk added to the two veterans and the in-form DeChambeau to a powerful lineup that already includes Dustin Johnson, Brooks Koepka, Patrick Reed, Justin Thomas, Jordan Spieth, Rickie Fowler, Bubba Watson and Webb Simpson.

    ALSO READ: Olesen in, Bjorn to fill team on Wednesday 

    Woods will make his Ryder Cup return as a player for the first time in six years.

    The 42-year-old made his debut in 1999 and featured in six of the next seven editions. He was also part of Davis Love III’s backroom staff in 2016, as a vice-captain in Hazeltine. Woods has played in 33 Ryder Cup matches, fifth all-time on the US side, and has amassed 14.5 points.

    Tiger Woods

    Mickelson will become the first player in Ryder Cup history to make 12 appearances when he tees it up in Paris.

    The 47-year-old has played every edition of the event since making his debut in 1995. He will also tie Nick Faldo for the most matches played at the Ryder Cup when he plays his first match at Le Golf National – his 46th match. Mickelson hasn’t enjoyed much success on European soil, however. Mickelson has never won a Ryder Cup in Europe.


    DeChambeau will make his Ryder Cup debut in Paris after playing his way on to the team with three wins this year.

    The former US Amateur champion left Furyk with little doubt about his selection after winning back-to-back FedExCup playoff events leading into the wildcard announcements. The 24-year-old, who has won four times in the last 14 months, is currently ranked seventh in the Official Golf World Rankings.


    Furyk will make his last and final wildcard pick on Monday, 24 September, the day after the Tour Championship.

    Credit: Ryder Cup website 

    Article written by