• The Open: Final round tee times

    Zander Lombard
    Lombard will be looking to close in style

    The final pair, Jordan Spieth and Xander Schauffele, begin their final round of The Open at 3:45pm, more than an hour after SA’s Zander Lombard and Erik van Rooyen, writes WADE PRETORIUS.

    READ: Saffas stall in thrilling third round

    The Saffa duo has identical scores after rounds of 67, 71 and 71 with both looking to finish off their solid work at Carnoustie on Sunday. The course is set to be at its most difficult for the final round with high winds and firmer conditions expected on the Angus coast.

    Van Rooyen will be joined by Japan’s Yusaku Miyazato at 2:15pm with Lombard, who finished with a hole-out eagle last night, off in the group alongside impressive American Tony Finau.

    ALSO READ: McIlroy ready to attack

    There are seven groups between Lombard and the pair of Spieth and Schauffele. Before the final pair gets under way, Rory McIlroy and last year’s runner-up Matt Kuchar start their bid at 3:05pm with Sweden’s Alex Noren and American Webb Simpson next.

    The 3:25pm tee time is likely to gain an even larger following than the leaders with Francesco Molinari, one of golf’s most in-form players, pegging it up with Tiger Woods. The 14-time Major champion briefly tied the lead on Saturday and starts four back on Sunday.

    At 11:35am, Brandon Stone starts his final round with Sung Kang, the rising Korean star who has been embroiled in a cheating controversy for the past two weeks. Kang has insisted his innocence since being called out by Joel Dahmen after taking a questionable drop on the final day at Quicken Loans National.

    Shaun Norris will have a much lower follower rate after playing with Woods yesterday as he starts his final round at 1:10pm with Australia’s Lucas Herbert for company.

    Straight after that, Sean Crocker joins Louis Oosthuizen for their final 18 holes of the 147th Open Championship.

    Article written by