• PGA Championship: 5 shock winners

    PGA Championship preview
    Bradley won on his Major debut

    In our August issue, Compleat Golfer takes a look at five players who shocked the world by winning the PGA Championship.

    Wayne Grady, 1990

    The Australian had just one top-10 finish in a Major heading into Shoal Creek, but rode a second-round 67 to victory over a young Fred Couples. Grady would win only one more PGA Tour event in his career.

    John Daly, 1991

    Daly came in as the ninth alternate, being forced to drive overnight to make it to Crooked Stick, after Nick Price withdrew due to the birth of his first child. Daly went on to win by three shots (see Classic Read, page 96).

    Shaun Micheel, 2003

    It was a strange leaderboard, with Micheel winning, Chad Campbell second and Tim Clark and Alex Cejka rounding out the top four. Of the top 13 at this PGA Championship, only two had previously won a Major.

    YE Yang, 2009

    Tiger Woods was leading by two shots heading into the final round. But Yang hit a miraculous shot on the 72nd hole to secure a victory and hand Woods his first loss in a Major when leading after 54 holes.

    Keegan Bradley, 2011

    Bradley had never played in a Major before, but he found himself winning a playoff against Jason Dufner. It was the first time a golfer had won a Major in his first start since Ben Curtis did it at the 2003 Open Championship.

    Article written by