• PGA Championship: In numbers

    PGA Championship numbers
    Only one South African has won the title

    Compleat Golfer weighs up the numbers that count ahead of the 99th PGA Championship starting on Thursday at Quail Hollow in North Carolina.

    1 – South African to have won the fourth Major of the year: Gary Player won it twice, in 1962 and 1972.

    3 – Players to have won the Major wire-to-wire, being the sole leader from the end of the first round to the end of the tournament. They are Bobby Nichols in 1964, Raymond Floyd in 1982 and Hal Sutton in 1983.

    4 – Consecutive PGA Championships won by Walter Hagen, from 1924 to 1927. Only one other golfer has won the same Major four times in a row: Tom Morris Jnr, who took The Open in 1868, 1869, 1870 and 1872.

    5 – The most wins by an individual. Walter Hagen won it in 1921, 1924, 1925, 1926 and 1927 and Jack Nicklaus won it in 1963, 1971, 1973, 1975 and 1980.

    18 -In 18 of the past 20 years, the champion has come from the last group in the final round of the championship.

    20 – The total strokes under par by a winner, which is also a record low for any Major championship. Australia’s Jason Day shot rounds of 68, 67, 66 and 67 in winning by three shots in 2015.

    99 -This year’s event will be the 99th staging of The PGA Championship. Next year’s 100 milestone takes place at Bellerive Country Club in St Louis.

    – This article first appeared in the August issue of Compleat Golfer

    Article written by